Welcome to Dragon Valley!

We’re here! A DITFT! I’m so ready for this. I’ve got the goals we’ll need to complete for the first generation. I’ve got my Google spreadsheet where I can distribute and redistribute the 3.13333… children per generation that we can have. The only thing I don’t have…

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-17-52-pm

…is a realistic idea of how much money we had to build a house. I’m very used to plopping a sim down on an empty lot with a bed and a toilet, and then building mansions with the hundreds of thousands of moneys the family gathered up over generations. Apparently not so good at making a small, modest house on a budget.

We’re in Dragon Valley, since I don’t think the Mendeleevs have been here before?

Our founder, in case you’re new, is Lutetium Mendeleev. I call her Lu for short sometimes. She’s an athletic and disciplined virtuoso with an urge to steal shit, and her final trait is… green thumb.

It was supposed to be commitment-issues but I wanted to make my life a little easier.

… I was going to have her start a garden first before we went out to collect Sam, Lutetium’s high school sweetheart, but we need money to at least get some basic furnishings.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-16-11-pm
I plopped Sam down in one of the starter homes and found that the lighting was awful, so I tried to get them out of there as soon as possible.

Sam is excitable, hot-headed, nurturing, and artistic. He also loves the outdoors, which is one of the goals for this generation–marrying someone with that trait or green thumb/angler. I didn’t do anything to change his traits and had actually forgotten about that generation objective, so… good job Lutetium?

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-17-35-pm

Yeesh, it’s even worse inside the house.

Lutetium: I know that the game kind of made us forget each other, but do you want to skip the small talk about favorite food and come to my empty-ass house?

Sam: … sure?

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-20-45-pm

Not that the lighting is any better in our house. Yet.

Lutetium get off the phone and ask him to live with you.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-22-05-pm

See? Isn’t this nicer than Angry Birds or whatever?

Lutetium: Oh, I was playing Phoenix Wright. It’s an app now.

WAIT WHAT.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-22-46-pm

Lutetium’s hair: *breaks*

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-29-16-pm

Once Sam moved in and brought some money with him, I sent them both (heehee) outside so I could furnish the place.

It feels weird to control another member of the household. Like when I was a kid in church thinking about things that weren’t Church Thoughts. Like there weren’t any rules against thinking about what an awesome show Teen Titans was instead of listening to the sermon, but it still feels like you’re gonna get called out or something.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-46-51-pm

Our kitchen area.

Both Lutetium and Sam love green, on top of this being the gardening generation, so get used to seeing green.

… oh no. Please don’t let the sexual garden innuendos be revived. I don’t want a repeat of Ellie and Zhan.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-47-00-pm

Living area.

… that’s not the chair that you’re looking at right now, Sam.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-47-05-pm

A little corner with our stairs leading to the second floor and an easel for Sam.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-47-12-pm

Downstairs bathroom.
screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-48-07-pm

And upstairs we have a bed.

I brought Frederick the shark along with Lutetium, and he hangs proudly over the bed to watch over our sims while they sleep. And… er… do other things.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-48-39-pm

Sam gets started on a painting and I can tell him to finish that painting whenever I want!

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-51-04-pm

Meanwhile, I sent Lutetium out and found a little community garden, so she can harvest plants from that and we won’t need to buy any.

… and she got like two gardening skill from harvesting the plants in the garden?

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-53-46-pm

Hey, Sam?

Sam: … yes?

… go put those leftovers away. :3

This is too much power for one simmer.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-6-55-07-pm

Lutetium and Sam can’t do stuff until they’re married and I am keeping an eye on them so they don’t.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-00-25-pm

We start the garden the next morning. It’s tomatoes and lettuce and some of the Supernatural/University seeds that you get when you hit your first level of gardening.

No apples yet. I’m pretty sure that even if you’re not directly using apples and watermelons, their presence on a lot can affect the baby? So I’m not even going to plant apples until we get a girl.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-03-55-pm

Lutetium: *stares at wall while waiting to speak to her husband* I wish we had a treadmill.

Sweetie, we can’t even afford to put a fence around the garden just yet.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-06-45-pm

Mendeleev caption contest: come up with a flirt/pickup line about newspapers. Because I sure as hell can’t.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-06-59-pm

The newspaper line apparently got Lu’s gears going, however, because she immediately rolled this.

You absolutely cannot, Lu.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-10-54-pm

They have sexually-frustrated cuddles and fall asleep.

Frederick: This is boring.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-16-41-pm

In other news, it feels like Lutetium is skilling gardening a lot faster than is normal. It might be my imagination but I feel like it usually takes longer to get to level five, even with a slightly larger garden than what we have now.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-17-18-pm

Sam throws the old newspapers away without being told to do so and he doesn’t even have a neat trait or anything like that. He’s so good, so pure. Lutetium did a good job at prom.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-20-43-pm

… this wasn’t supposed to be a bathroom engagement but Sam had to go pee at the worst time.

At least it’s a nice bathroom with nice green walls.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-7-21-05-pm

See, you can’t even tell what room they’re in in this picture.

This was also the moment I noticed that green design on Lutetium’s shirt was not, as I had thought, some flowery leafy thing and was, in fact, a bunch of music notes. She’s a virtuoso so it’s fine.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Dragon Valley!

  1. Aw, Sam Sekemoto! I bet you’re one of the first to begin a legacy with Sam, given he’s a toddler when you first load SV. So glad his hair finally grew in!

    I believe that Green Thumb trait is what’s causing Lute’s gardening skill to rocket up. And harvesting is the faster learning action as well. Hey, the quicker she’s at L10, the longer she’ll have to get the omni opportunity chain!

    Like

  2. I feel like a moron but I can’t find the Like button. >.< It's a great starting chapter and I want to declare as such! But, apparently, I'm blind.

    Green Thumb fits much better for the DITPT (heh) than commitment issues, though that would have been hilarious. Lu and Sam are cute and I can't wait to see their kids! :3

    Like

  3. Eek, I can’t find a like button either! It’s how I keep track where I leave off. LOL

    I really like them as a couple and I can’t wait to see how things progress.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.